How to wake up a Fuji X-T1

Fuji strap attachment point

When I was researching the Fuji X series cameras, I often read old (2014) posts that said that the X-T1 (and other X series cameras) were hard to wake up.

I had firmware 3.0 and now have firmware 4.0 on my X-T1, and I have not had a hard time waking up my X-T1 once I figured out that you need to hold down the shutter release button for at least a full second (and it seems about 1/2 second in high performance mode) instead of just barely touching the button like on my Canon bodies.

This is different, but I don’t find negative, but I’m pretty flexible from having to use a lot of different computers and cameras.

For good measure, I have gotten in the habit of just holding down the button for a full second while I think about and prepare for the shot.

As you may have guessed, this is probably to prevent accidental wake ups.

(I don’t know if this was different in firmware 1 or 2 or if other X series cameras have issues.)

Leave a Reply

