Fuji X-T1 + XC 50-230mm – Supermoon Lunar Eclipse

I am already been impressed by the sharpness from my Fuji and XC lens (see photos in my Canon 70-200mm f/4L IS vs Fuji XC 50-200mm Moon Shootout), but I hadn’t considered sharpening the results. I added sharpened and enhanced photos to the moon shootout and the results are even more impressive.

But now to the supermoon lunar eclipse!

Here is what it looked like through the viewfinder at 230mm.

Fuji X-T1 XC 50-230mm supermoon lunar eclipse

Here it is cropped at 100%.

Fuji X-T1 XC 50-230mm supermoon lunar eclipse

And here it is sharpened a little.

Fuji X-T1 XC 50-230mm supermoon lunar eclipse

The diffused red light filtering through the Earth’s atmosphere really softened all the details plus, with the reduced light, I had to increase the ISO (and thus reducing details further).

This was much better than the last bloodmoon back in 10/2014 — where I was located, the moon was low to the horizon early in the morning and behind thin clouds. The results were very blurry compared to this.

*Update* And here are the exposure values. Although the XC 50-230’s widest aperture is f/6.7 (and has been sharp at f/6.7 on everything that I have shot so far), on a whim, I tested it at f/8 and f/11 and found f/11 to show more detail. My guess why this is is because at that distance, the depth of field is so narrow that any help does increase details.

20150927 supermoon eclipse 3up closeup exposure

Leave a Reply

