Silver Sharpie on plastic

20150923 121359 IMG_9657 G15_DCE

For any of you who are thinking about using a silver Sharpie for marking plastic equipment, I will warn you that the oil from your fingers may eventually smear the marking off of some plastics. (In the photo above, it is only starting to come off, but would be mostly wiped off if I continued to wipe it with my finger.)

I have had to remark my Fuji batteries several times to maintain the marking, but the Brother P-Touch label is fine (but adds thickness so can be tough in tight fitting equipment like SD cards and batteries).

Same goes for my Canon batteries.

The silver Sharpie does work great on my equipment where I can mark them where you won’t touch often.

Leave a Reply

