Fuji X-T1 – In-Camera RAW Processing – Orchestra

At a recent KC Symphony concert at our kid’s future high school, I got wonderful photos like this using the Electronic Shutter:

Fuji X-T1 electronic shutter

This is how I shot it (at EV-1). ht stands for Highlight Tone. st stands for Shadow Tone.

Here is the same shot with different shadow and highlight tone using in-camera post processing. Pay close attention to the bright spot at the center to notice the first change (highlight tone -2).

Fuji X-T1 electronic shutter in camera post processing

And here are the individual shots:

Fuji X-T1 electronic shutter in camera post processing Fuji X-T1 electronic shutter in camera post processing Fuji X-T1 electronic shutter in camera post processing

In this case, I could gain a little highlight detail and a huge amount of shadow detail, but in gaining detail, I lost the mood that I liked in the original.

At 1/125, I got some slight motion blur with the conductor’s movements, but I was not shooting to freeze his action.


FYI I was carefully using the X-T1’s electronic level (but “level” is approximately 0.5 degrees from 0 which is within human tolerance for everyday photos). I did rotate the photos to see if they would look better. 0.5 degrees was enough to level out the floor, but it also didn’t look correct. My best guess is that there are conflicting clues on what is level and photos from my position would never look correct (but I was there to listen, not to get a perfect photo) — my seat was not directly in the center. This is supported by the fact that the photos with the floor level already (from the same seat) also looked incorrect.

Leave a Reply

