DIY Dual Camera Harness (pt2)


Stage 3: Refinement

Now it is time to make a product you want to be seen using.

Materials I used:

I listed other options and considerations in the last post in the series.

  • Two 1.5″ wide leather belts about 36″ men’s length
    • I opted for good-enough $30 Levi’s belts from Kohl’s (on sale)
  • Two 1.5″ D-rings
    • I ordered welded, stainless steel, flat black (powdercoated*), 1/4″ (6mm) thick D-rings from Strapworks.com which ended up being not quite $4 each after shipping.
  • 1/2″ (near) black Chicago screws to join the straps together (ebay)
  • Slider
    • Since my end goal was to only use my Peak Design Slide or SlideLITE when not using this harness, I had to make my own, so I got the following:
      • Four Peak Design Anchor Links (which requires 3/4″ webbing)
      • 3/4″ seat belt webbing off eBay
      • 3/4″ wide elastic bands

Join

Joining the two belts is essential for making the harness:

  • Easier to put on
  • Stay in place better (I have sloping shoulders so I like having the join higher up)

I opted to go the simple route and use Chicago screws which I ordered through eBay.

I eyeballed the punches thinking that the visual center would be good enough. Oops! Didn’t look great (about 1/8″ off). Save yourself a headache and punch them at the same distance. Luckily or me, the punch wasn’t too far off and I could use the punch scrap to fill the incorrect hole hidden under the Chicago screw.

D-Ring

Gunmetal better matched the buckles which would have been great if my sliders were matching leather, but I preferred flat black because:

  • My sliders were black seat belt webbing
  • I wanted the slides to work with other belt colors if I got different belts to better hide with different clothes.

20160201 002413 IMG_9950 G15_Crop_DCE.jpg

*A word about powdercoating:

In a previous life, I was a sign designer and I had a great guy (Don Frazier at Sign Art in Kansas) who would take care of all my sandblasting and powdercoating needs. Powdercoating creates a really strong finish, but it leaves a contact point somewhere.

Since D-rings are so small, the contact point is hard to hide. Some paints work better than others. Gunmetal looked great, but flat black did not do so well in the first round.

Luckily, Douglas Foster, president at Strapworks, was understanding and had black D-rings redone to minimize the contact point. These look fantastic (with a little sanding on one of them).

20160201 001652 IMG_9942 G15_DCE.jpg

I highly recommend Strapworks.com and don’t forget to contact support if you have any questions (Contact Us link at the top of their site).

Belt loop

To handle the end of the belts, I used the same black 3/4″ elastic material that I used in the slide.

20160129 085748 IMG_9920 G15 DPP_DCE.JPG

I could have spent time trying to find some leather that matches, but I’m just happy with this for now.

(The straps were extra long in this version because I ended up having to get longer belts than I wanted in order to get two matching belts. If you can be patient and get 34″ belts, you will not have so much strap seen above.)

Belts

I got dark brown with black edges to mostly match with most clothing, but I think that I might get black belts, too, in order to have a strap that hides in my black clothing. Luckily, the sliders are really easy to move from belt to belt.

The back/interior of the belts were rough. You can see it in this photo.

20160129 085244 IMG_9919 G15_DCE

I didn’t want it to damage my clothes so I took sandpaper to it. It is softer now, but it is still a little rough. Presumably, it will soften with age.

Leave a Reply

