DIY Dual Camera Harness (pt3)


Slide construction

For my minimalistic Peak Design compatible slide, I sewed Anchor links to the ends of 5″ and 8″ straps. This was to have a longer length for the left camera so it could shoot in portrait orientation easier (great for shooting cross country runners) and a shorter length for the right camera. Then I attached them to the D-rings with a cow hitch knot.

If you did not use Peak Design anchors, you would be limited to one anchor point like the tripod connector at the bottom of your camera. Even with a fairly long slide, this made it difficult to shoot in portrait orientation (especially with a battery grip like below).

I had to turn my body and low my head to get to they viewfinder. Awkward!

Luckily, an added benefit of using Peak Design Anchors is that it allows you to suspend the camera ready for portrait orientation since the anchors can be on the body and the bottom of the camera and the straps can be different lengths.

This is awesome for events where I’m shooting mostly portrait orientation (and something that I really wish I had last cross country season).

This could be quickly adjusted at any time by pulling on the cow hitch knot. Brilliant! But then I realized that this could be even faster if just hung the strap through the D-ring and used a loop of some sort to keep the strap from falling off (see below). What you end up with is a self-adjusting slide!

20160131 203008 IMG_9928 G15_DCE anim 200ms.gif

You just use the camera and the straps stay out of your way. Here is a closeup of the shorter, right side slider.

I used an elastic band because it would be light, durable enough, flexible, hides well and would not harm the strap, D-ring or gear.

I, originally, planned the Anchors to face away from each other when tied in a cow hitch, but the self-adjusting method caused them to face the same direction. I might resew the Anchors to face away to work slightly better on the cameras, but its not awful that they face the same direction.

They also started out as 8″ and 5″ straps, but now that they are not in a cow hitch, they are 9″ and 6″ long which is not a problem, but something to know.

Right camera (easy. simple.)

(I wore a light shirt and used only my right hand in the photos so you could get a better view of the slide. Normally, the slide would be partially hidden my the left arm and part of the weight of the camera would rest on my left arm. Plus, it looks like I have a death grip on the cameras. OK, these just look slightly off for multiple reasons, but you get the point. Maybe I should photoshop me out.)

Left camera – self-adjusting slide (easy)

You can see how much easier this is compared to a fixed point slide

Look how much that slider is pulling on the strap! It’s really uncomfortable. (I don’t even look comfortable.)

I big shout out goes to the wonderful people at Peak Design for supporting my build. They donated 4 Anchor links and Anchors which I highly appreciate, but not for just helping me save a little money, but, more importantly, for me believing in my idea. 🙂 THANKS AGAIN!!!

2 thoughts on “DIY Dual Camera Harness (pt3)

  1. Since the Anchor Links are rated at “over 200lbs” would you be comfortable using a single anchor link to hold the camera? I am a big fan of the Peak Design products and was thinking of making a dual harness. I had the same idea to use my Anchors on this, so I was happy to see someone else use them as well. My only gripe is the use of 2 Anchors. Seems overkill? Or just extra material. I was thinking of using a single anchor on the bottom like others do with a 1/4inch mount and carabiner type connection. I’m going to try to create my first prototype this coming weekend… I’ll see if 1 Anchor will hold up

    Like

    1. The anchors themselves will probably hold, but I would keep an eye out on wear-and-tear and weaknesses in how you attach the anchor clips to your setup. Good luck!

      Like

Leave a Reply

