Fujifilm Autofocus While Zooming

20150923 161146 5fps animated2

When I started shooting Fuji X cameras, I noticed while shooting soccer and cross country that the continuous autofocus stops operating when I start changing the focal length on my zoom lenses. I often do this while following the players/runners. This is not a problem with Canon cameras which keep trying to maintain focus with their fast phase detection sensors.

If both my Fuji X-T1 and X-E2 had only contrast detection sensors, that would explain the behavior since it wouldn’t be able to react fast enough to the changes, but both have X Trans II sensors with embedded phase detection sensors, so I’m not sure why it would stop trying to focus unless

  • Fuji set this intentionally in the firmware
  • or Fuji’s are still unable to process the information fast enough for continuous focus while zooming. (FYI I do have the high performance setting turned on.)

I have not been able to find any information about this or anyone else mention this online. This is especially annoying when I am tracking someone running towards me and I am zooming wide to accommodate them getting closer.

Perhaps they will release this in a future firmware. Perhaps this will be addressed with a faster processor. If anyone has any information, I would love to hear from them.

Leave a Reply

