I’m DSLR Free!!!

Canon just lost another customer.

I’ve been shooting both DSLR and Fuji mirrorless for about a year now and recently decided to go 100% mirrorless. My DSLR bodies just collect dust in my cabinet except for the occasional test against my Fuji bodies, so it was time to sell them off to make way for better equipment.

20160628 115836 IMG_0234 G15_DCE

For years, my go-to cameras were big DSLRs, but the toll they took on my body* and on my soul** was just too much. Something had to give and after a lot of research, a lot of testing and a trial-by-fire this last year all pointed out that it was time to give up on DSLRs.***

So now I am DSLR free!!!

(In the spirit of “I’m debt free” from Dave Ramsey)

I wonder if the first single-lens reflex (SLR) users felt like this when SLRs began to overtake twin-lens reflex (TLRs) cameras?

It’s an amazing time to be a photographer. Happy shooting!


Notes:

*they are darn heavy

**the images they produced just didn’t live and took a lot of processing

***For a while, I considered keeping the cameras in case my kids or someone that I knew wanted to learn photography or try out a DSLR, but every time I considered the poor experience they would have when there were better, cheaper cameras out there, I would remember that I couldn’t do that to them. I had to resist keeping the equipment because of sunk cost.

Leave a Reply

