Why You Should Try Carrying Your Camera Lens Down

This post could also be titled why you should try a sling strap (with the plate attachment). You will see why later.

First of all, if you are dead set on carrying your camera old school, why on earth are you even reading further? Go do your thing and be awesome. But if you are open-minded, here is a case for why you should try carrying your camera lens down.

Do you have your camera handy? Grab it with just your right hand and hold your camera to your side (with your arm relaxed). Now imagine that you have a strap connected to it so you can release your hand. This is also how you would naturally grab your camera when it is on a strap, too. Viola! This is the natural position of your camera, so why are strap attachments at the top of the camera (forcing the camera to rotate) rather than at the bottom?

The answer: tradition or “that is how we have always done it.” Strap goes around the neck (like a tourist) and neck becomes sore (unless you have an 8 ounce point-and-shoot).

Break the mold! Be awesome!

Issue #1:

Here is a camera on a sling strap attached to the traditional attachment points.

20160707 055505 DSCF0462 X100T_DCE

Look how the lens just points out of my hip waiting for it to bump things or people. I also have to either:

  • Rotate the camera with my left hand so I can grab it with my right more comfortably or
  • Rotate my right hand awkwardly in order to grab the camera.

Now attach it to the bottom of the camera and viola!

Now it is doesn’t jet out as much and works great with bigger lenses, too. It’s also a great way to anchor wrist straps if you use a Peak Design strap like I do (see it looped at the bottom right?).

Issue #2:

When you bring your camera up to your eye, where do the straps go? Do they stay out of your way or hinder you?

20160707 062948 DSCF0474 X100T_Crop_2_DCE

Here, my left hand has to deal with the strap (it just gets in the way), and my right hand has to either grip it or have it sit over it (both of which is a pain). What you can’t see (and I had no desire to photograph) is that the strap is also getting up into my armpit which I hate, but if you connect the strap to the bottom…

Strap no longer goes up into your arm pits and no longer gets in the way of your hands.

Nearly every sling strap system that I have seen has some kind of plate or bottom attachment due to these two issues. Two-camera harnesses do this, too, for the productivity boost.

So there you go, another method for carrying your camera for your consideration.

Now go be awesome!


P.S. There are times that I adjust my Peak Design SlideLITE so it is a neck strap. This is often when we are on vacation or visiting a site and I WANT to look like a tourist to keep the powers-that-be not nervous or wanting to charge me for “being a professional photographer.” Just because I have a big camera and know how to use it doesn’t mean I make my living on photography, so to avoid issues, I just go incognito. 🙂

Leave a Reply

