Fujifilm X100T Battery Case Options

I, personally, like a little protection for the contacts when I carry camera batteries in my pocket. Lithium Ion is notorious for catching fire when the contacts short out, so call me funny but I don’t want that happening in my pocket.

Unfortunately, there are no fitted plastic cases made specifically for most camera batteries any more. Just over-sized generic ones and do-it-yourself solutions. Here are some options that I have found:

Specs

Fuji NP-95 battery for X100/S/T 50 x 36 x 11mm
Tic Tac package (internal) 62 x 39 x 15mm
Generic Hero battery case (external) 50 x 38 x 15mm (did not fit)
Generic eBay battery case (internal) 60 x 38 x 18mm
Generic LP-E6 battery case (internal) 60 x 41 x 23mm
(Fuji NP-W126 battery) (47 x 35 x 16mm)

DIY

Tic Tac battery case

The NP-95 batteries used by Fuji X100 cameras are roughly 50 x 36 x 11mm. This easily fits in the inside dimensions of a standard Tic Tac package (which is roughly 62 x 39 x 15mm). In fact, it swims in the case, and therefore occupies a little more room in your pocket. Whether this is an issue with you is up to you (of course).

I don’t like the clicking sound this makes in my pocket when I’m moving, so I added a little packing foam.

If you are able to get foam like mine, don’t make my mistake and cut it too small at first (see below). Instead, cut the foam too large and then trim it down. Make sure the width is very long so the sides are forced to be more flush with the sides of the container (so the battery can slip in more easily).

Luckily, the wrong size foam can be rolled up to make an excellent bumper in the lid to further reduce movement (and the noise it creates).

And, no, adding foam will not help keep your battery safe if you drop it in water (by helping it float) because the Tic Tac case is not water tight and any water + batteries = bad news. If you need water tight, tupperware or freezer zip locs would be a better way to go.

P.S. Keep in mind that this kind of (cheap) plastic is easily cracked.

(Unfortunately, this is too thin for an NP-W126 batteries used in the other X series camera bodies which are roughly 47 x 35 x 16mm.)

Tips:

  • Take it from an old sign maker:
    • Pull the label off slowly and regrip the label close to where it attaches to the Tic Tac package to get cleaner removal. Don’t be lazy and just keep pulling — the paper can separate or more adhesive can be left behind making removal tougher.
    • Remove any leftover adhesive using a piece of strong tape (not masking tape). Scotch tape will often do.
    • Some larger labels can be removed more cleanly by removing the label quickly (this creates a cascade of adhesive failure), but many times this just separates the adhesive from the label so proceed with caution.
  • It was a fight to get the lid initially off (push with your thumbs) and then don’t complete insert the lid back into place until it loosens up (last photo above).

.

eBay battery cases

The devil is in the details. First up:

Generic eBay Hero battery cases

Hero batteries are slightly smaller than NP-95 batteries, but some of the generic battery cases on eBay found under “Hero battery case” appear spec-ed as oversized and might fit NP-95 batteries. In particular, I have my eye on one spec-ed at 50 x 38 x 15mm, but this might be outside dimensions which won’t be long enough.

And that turned out to be the case. Here are the clues to watch for:

The first photo shows it just fitting a Hero battery (which is smaller than a NP-95) with handles at the wide end. The 2nd, harder to see photo shows an alternate case with handles at the narrow end. That’s where the 50mm came from (with the additional handle), so the NP-95 hangs out like this:

But I might cut off the tiny plastic bumps inside so that it will fit my iPad SD card adapter. It also juuust fits a Fuji XQ1/2 NP48 battery.

(You can also see that the inexpensive plastic is already starting the crack at the hinge, but the case was only $1, so you get what you pay for.)

.

Generic eBay battery case

I also found a generic battery case on eBay that measures 60 x 38 x 18mm, but it didn’t say if these were external or internal measurements.

Turns out these were internal measurements.

A single battery swims in the case, and the case is only a few mm short of being able to hold two batteries.

.

Generic LP-E6 battery case

Canon 7D, 6D, and 5D use the same battery (56 x 38 x 20mm) which is almost two NP-95 batteries stacked together. The tricky part is to make sure the box will be at least 21mm in thickness (instead of just 20mm).

The first one that I ordered was out of stock, but the next one that I ordered was 60 x 41 x 23mm. (Note that a Nikon EN-EL15 is pictured in the case and is one of the many batteries listed as compatible with this case.)

These turned out to be external dimensions, so was the same width, but slightly deeper and taller than the previous case. Two NP-95 batteries fit with some swim…

but foam should reduce the movement. The case is thicker than a Tic Tac box, but not as wide as 2 Tic Tac boxes side-by-side (to carry 2 batteries in your pocket).

.

 Wallets and pouches

There are also memory card and battery wallets out there which might work for you.

  • Think Tank, LensCoat and Tenba $15-20 ($10 for single battery)
  • Search for “battery pouch” on Amazon. Filter for Camera and Photo. Under $10.
  • Search for “battery pouch” on eBay. Filter for Camera & Photo. Under $10.

There are also pouches that you can add to your camera bag strap.

I got this unbranded pouch off eBay for a few dollars.

ecostconnection s-l1600 small battery pouch.jpg

But the actual one delivered was branded (not an issue for me — I was looking for low price), and it looked too small!!! Oh, no! I thought. They sent me the wrong one! There is no way two NP-95 batteries will fit, but they did!

And wrapped itself into a cute little package almost the size of the Tic Tac case (which holds only 1 battery).

In fact, there is so much material, that the pouch wrapped itself all the way around and I had to add another velcro patch to hold it shut easier. Tip: don’t add too much velcro if you are concerned about being able to open it quietly.

And it still has a little manufacturing smell so it needs to air out, but I like it so much, I bought a 2nd pouch to hold some NP-W126 batteries for my X-T1. The batteries are slightly shorter and thicker (and juuust fits the pouches), but wraps around nearly the same as the NP-95 batteries.

 

.

3D printed sleeves

I’ve seen some plans for 3D printed sleeves for NP-W126 so there might be plans for NP-95 out there which might be useful if you either have or know some with a 3D printer or are willing to pay a company to print this for you.

Rubber bands

Yes, you could use those wide rubber bands that you find around bundles of broccoli at the grocery store to protect the battery contacts. This might even help prevent the batteries from slipping out of your pocket. My experience with rubber bands isn’t great, but your mileage may vary.

What would be great would be natural latex rubber elastic bands used in medicine (or silicone). Those seem to last forever, but getting ones sized for batteries is probably not possible without significant cost.

Tiny zip loc bags

You can get a bundle of tiny zip loc bags from a hobby store, but take it from me, these require a lot of replacement as they wear out easily, but if you need cheap and temporarily waterproof, these are the way to go.

Tip: double-bag or get freezer zip locs if you are going to be rough.

Recap

DIY Tic Tac case, battery cases, battery pouches, rubber bands, zip loc bags are some of the many options.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Only you can determine what works for you, but I really like the battery pouch since it is soft and flexible in my pocket.

Happy shooting!


How can I tell which battery I have used?

I number my batteries and use them in sequence, so if #2 is in my camera, then #3 is next, but I don’t have so many batteries that I can’t remember if I have already used #1.

I do this because I have to be flexible — batteries (not in cases) can move around in either of my backpacks, so no flip-this-way-or-that-way tricks.

Between my X-T1 and X-E2 (which use the same NP-W126 batteries),

  • one set of 3 batteries are numbered
  • and the other set of 2 batteries is not labeled, but distinctly different batteries.

If the 2nd set were identical, I would letter them to keep them apart, but labeled.

Leave a Reply

