Tilt or No-Tilt, Viewfinders and Spring Chickens

For many years, I was fine with 3″ viewfinders on the back of my point-and-shoot cameras including my Canon G15.

But I’m no spring chicken anymore and I’m finding that what looked like the above, now looks like this (strike 1)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

That’s what happens to many people like me (over 40), but my optometrist doesn’t recommend bifocals as they don’t perform all that well especially for photographers, so I either have to take off my glasses or hold my camera further away to get it in focus.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

But that means the screen is even smaller (strike 2).

But seriously, why would I prefer a 3″ screen when I can have what looks like a high def tv right in front of me (viewfinder)? (strike 3)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Plus, there is how screens are not so great in daylight (strike 4).

And not so discrete in dark settings (strike 5).

And if the screen is not a tilt screen, low and high angles look like this (strike 6):

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Which is why even though I really like the idea of the Fuji X70, I’ll be saving for an X100(s or t) which has several fewer strikes against it thanks to its EVF.

Leave a Reply

