Fujifilm X-E2 flash button mod

Currently, when I’m shooting events that require a quick switch from wide lens to telephoto lens, I use my DIY dual camera harnesss and my X-T1 & X-E2. (This is not an ideal pair as my X-E2 cannot do many things that my X-T1 can do and has less controls as my X-T1.) But there is one thing that has been bothering me that I finally did something about.

To pop-up the built-in flash on the X-E2, you push the raised flash button, but when the camera is in my DIY dual camera harness, the button gets pushed accidentally rather often. This exposes the flimsy flash to damage.

So to stop the accidents, I used the same foam that I used to pad the thumb rest on my Fuji X100T Metro Case to create a bumper.

To create the hole, I used a small hole punch and a knife. It isn’t beautiful, but it works very well.

Several events later and it is still in great shape and working wonderfully.

Leave a Reply

