Photographing a Christmas Cactus with a flash

I have been trying to properly capture our Christmas Cactus (named “Russ” after the person who gave it to us) for a few years now. It is a difficult color and size to capture with lots of branches that get in the way.

Last year, I tried a technique with a high powered flashlight (which you can see here and here).

This got me nice results, but was not color accurate and not correctable due to the color of the high powered flashlight.

This year, I tried using a small flash that I got recently, and was able to get some wonderful shots with less hassle.

I’ll post details on how I got this shot later.

Good luck!

 

Leave a Reply

